Models ‘n’ Mutts

download-13

On Saturday I volunteered with an organisation I’ve been wanting to work with for a while, Models n Mutts. Myself and six other models took pictures with the dogs at one of our local animal shelters. Professional images of the pups, shot in positive and realistic settings, increase their chances of getting noticed online and hopefully adopted into a forever home.

I was nervous beforehand. I have rescued a number of animals over the years and knew how hard it would be to witness firsthand just how many need saving, especially at a high kill shelter where you know the dog you’re falling in love with could be put down any day. It was going to be emotional, there was no escaping that, but I decided it’s more important to do something to help rather than shy away and ignore the problem altogether.

On the day we took it in turns to shoot with as many dogs as possible concentrating on those who were most in need. The dogs who had been at the shelter for a long time, who were older or disabled, or that had other issues that made them less likely to be adopted. We also made a point of shooting with a lot of the pitbulls as there truly are so many in Los Angeles who desperately need help.

download-16 download-33

We spent the afternoon shooting in one of the large grass areas where the dogs are exercised. It was so wonderful to see them run, play, and interact with our photographer, Christian Shenouda, and all the girls. Every time a new dog came out it was pure joy, not a single one was aggressive or seemed unhealthy or unhappy. They just wanted some love and to pose for the camera. I wish more people could see them in this light and would take the time to visit their local shelter before getting a pet.

I was not sure how effective what we were doing would be, but after seeing just a few frames on camera I could not believe the difference in the pictures of these dogs compared to their shelter photos. The pictures were almost immediately uploaded online and the older ones replaced. The professional images capture their true personalities in a loving environment rather than when the pup is scared and lonely after just arriving at the shelter. It broke my heart not being able to shoot with every dog there but I can see now how it is possible to change a dog’s life without having to adopt them yourself, and even if it’s just one, that’s something.

download-34download-32

 

The fantastic news is that as of today, six of the dogs we shot with have already been moved out of the shelter and off the euthanasia list. I cannot tell you how good this feels! Now I’m hoping more of the pits will get help too.

If you are a photographer or a model and would like to help, please feel free to contact me or Models n Mutts. The organisation is run by Gina Hendrix and I can’t express enough my admiration for her, the other models who give up their time, our amazing photographer on the day Christian, who not only shoots but edits the images, and of course all the volunteers at the North Central LA animal shelter. I wish I had the courage to volunteer there every day.

If you are not a professional photographer but still want to help check out shelterme.com and start looking up shelters in your local area.

For more information or to adopt any of the dogs below click here.

One thought on “Models ‘n’ Mutts

Leave a comment